ANDERSON COUNTY LIBRARY SYSTEM BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL CALLED MEETING Tuesday, May 14, 2024 | ECC Makerspace

Present: Elaine Stoll, Chair; Sara Crocker, Nicole Davenport, Angela Dixon, Pinkey Rinnix, Frances Saville,

Wendy Tucker

Staff Present: Annie Sutton, Library Director; Miranda White, Administrative Assistant Also Present: Hon. Tommy Dunn, County Council Chairman; Leon Harmon, County Attorney

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Stoll called the meeting to order at 10:05 am.

PUBLIC COMMENT

- 1. Mona Fleming, Dist 4 intellectual freedom; against censorship
- 2. Cynthia Baker, Dist 1 evidence-based practice; support for librarian expertise
- 3. Eleanor Walters, Dist 1 patron code of conduct and parental oversight; against moving items
- 4. Jennifer Rygg, Dist 4 parental oversight; against moving items
- 5. Libba Kellner, Dist 1 parental oversight and supervision; against moving items
- 6. Andrew Gilstrap, Dist 4 parental oversight and choice
- 7. Eric Childs, Dist 6 representation in books; librarian expertise; against censorship

NEW BUSINESS

Chair Stoll recognized County Council Chairman, Tommy Dunn. Councilman Dunn requested the Special Called Meeting of the Library Board to discuss County Council policy concerning public restrooms in County buildings. Mr. Dunn stated that as a County building, the Library must enforce County rules concerning restrooms: men use the men's restrooms and women use the women's restrooms. County Attorney Leon Harmon reiterated Councilman Dunn's statement on the use of men's and women's restrooms; the only alteration being accommodations for patrons under the Americans with Disabilities Act [ADA]. Library Director Sutton stated that the Library would enforce County rules in its buildings.

Chair Stoll asked if anyone would like to move into Executive Session. Nicole Davenport so moved and Pinkey Rinnix seconded. The Board moved into Executive Session at 10:29 am.

At 10:46 am, Sara Crocker motioned to exit Executive Session and Pinkey Rinnix seconded. No action was taken after exiting Executive Session.

ADJOURNMENT

Wendy Tucker motioned to adjourn and Angela Dixon seconded. Chair Stoll declared the meeting adjourned at 10:48 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Frances Saville,
Board Secretary